Learning a Language Corporate Training Subsidized Courses Kids + Teens Berlitz Seminars Berlitz Company Book Online
 
140 years of Berlitz


Writing company history – together.

2018 will be a banner year for Berlitz, as we celebrate our company’s 140th anniversary. We’d like to share some of the highlights our company has experienced since 1878. Join us on a quick journey through time as we explore the Berlitz story – and get ready for new stories from the Berlitz family in 2018.



How a man traveled to America to start a language school

Our founder, Maximilian D. Berlitz, was interested in foreign languages from an early age. When he emigrated from Germany to the United States at the age of 18, he not only spoke his native tongue, but also languages such as French, Latin, and Greek. He quickly made a name for himself as a language teacher and became a professor of French and German. As chance would have it, the traditional teaching method focusing on grammar and translation soon disappeared from his language classes, to be replaced by the dynamic and active Berlitz Method. 1878 saw the launch of the first Berlitz School of Languages in Providence, Rhode Island, USA. Today there are 500 Berlitz Centers in 70 countries, and Berlitz is one of the leading global players in the fields of language learning, intercultural competence, and management and leadership skills.


Berlitz advertising icons of the past: The little professor

A little man wearing glasses, always smiling, sometimes with a pointer in his hand, sometimes with a pipe in his mouth. This was our "little professor." For some 25 years, he was the face of Berlitz and could be found on advertising posters and in school books and marketing brochures. Whether disguised as a bus driver in London or a waiter in France, his message was the same: A sense of humor makes learning a foreign language fun and gets everyone to the finish line faster. The little professor lives on in our memories.





A pioneer for equal opportunity - diversity at Berlitz

During the World Wars, it became clear that the dedication and leadership of women would shape the future of Berlitz. As male school directors were drafted into military service, their wives or secretaries suddenly found themselves running the schools. These were frightening times - teachers disappeared, classrooms were damaged, books were burned. Many schools were completely destroyed. In places where schools no longer existed, the female employees took the teaching materials to safety. And in some cities, the women kept the schools running successfully. Berlitz owes a lot to their courage. Today, as a signatory to the Charter of Diversity, Berlitz remains committed to an organizational culture which does not tolerate prejudice and is characterized by mutual respect and appreciation for each and every individual. At present in Germany, 75 percent of all employees and 75 percent of our managers are women.


The Sahel expedition and the launch of the Berlitz Foundation

From 1988 to 1992, a Berlitz team from Brussels joined forces with several non-profit organizations for a special mission. A convoy of Land Rovers started out on a journey through the African desert with the aim of helping people in the Sahel zone. In their luggage were essential medicines, non-perishable foodstuffs, and technical equipment for the digging of wells. It was a dangerous expedition for the team. But thanks to the local families and children, the crew gathered new strength every day. Since then, Berlitz has been committed to helping children in need. In 2006, we founded the Berlitz Educational Foundation in cooperation with Plan International, an organization aimed at advancing children's rights. The Berlitz Foundation allows us to make a small contribution toward offering children a brighter future by helping them along the path to education.

Find out more about the Berlitz Foundation >>


Berlitz German Coastguard - the first viral advertising video

This YouTube video has already had more than one million clicks and even made it onto the top-ten list of best advertising campaigns of 2006. A young member of the German coastguard gets a brief introduction to the technical controls and radar, and is then left to his own devices. Suddenly there's an emergency call. "Mayday, Mayday. We are sinking!" Surprised and nervous, the young man replies in broken English, "What are you ... thinking about?" This is followed by our slogan and logo: "Improve your English" and "Berlitz. Language for life." This video was never officially released as a commercial. But it was still a big hit for Berlitz and the Scandinavian advertising agency, raising the profile of the Berlitz brand and continuing to bring a smile to many faces today.


Berlitz today - competencies that take you to your destination

As one of the world's leading providers of language instruction and seminars, we offer you a broad selection of communication courses for the global business world. Flexible, tailored, and always featuring the highest Berlitz quality. Your personal success is what motivates us!

  • Language instruction, intercultural training, and management and leadership skills courses from a single source
  • More than 300,000 satisfied customers each year
  • Professional quality management certified under ISO standard 9001 (since 2006)
  • Some 500 sites in more than 70 countries
  • Germany-wide network of 56 Berlitz Centers and 40 Corporate Service Managers


More Berlitz stories to mark our 140th anniversary

When you've been around for 140 years, there are lots of stories to tell. To mark our anniversary in 2018, we'll have more Berlitz stories to share with you. Join us in our celebration!

Sprache lernen Firmentraining Förderung Kids + Teens Berlitz Seminare Berlitz Company Online buchen
 
140 Jahre Berlitz


Gemeinsam Unternehmensgeschichte schreiben.

In 2018 ist es soweit: Dann schreiben wir 140 Jahre Unternehmensgeschichte. Wir wollen Ihnen zeigen, was seit 1878 in unserem Unternehmen passiert ist. Begleiten Sie uns gerne auf eine kleine Zeitreise quer durch die Geschichte von Berlitz und freuen Sie sich auf weitere Stories der "Berlitz Familie" in 2018.



Von einem, der nach Amerika auszog, um eine Sprachschule zu gründen

Der Gründer Maximilian D. Berlitz interessierte sich schon früh für fremde Sprachen. Als er im Alter von 18 Jahren aus Deutschland in die USA auswanderte, beherrschte er neben der Muttersprache u.a. Französisch, Latein und Griechisch. Schnell machte er sich als Sprachlehrer einen Namen und wurde Professor für Französisch und Deutsch. Der Zufall wollte es, dass die klassische Lernmethode der „Grammatikübersetzung" in seinem Sprachunterricht verschwand und durch die lebendige, aktive Berlitz Methode ersetzt wurde. 1878 startete die erste Berlitz School of Languages in Providence, Rhode Island in den USA. Heute zählt Berlitz zu den Global Playern im Bereich Sprachkompetenz, interkulturelle Kompetenz sowie Management- und Führungskompetenz mit 500 Berlitz Center in 70 Ländern.


Der kleine Professor: Berlitz Werbeikone der Vergangenheit

Ein kleiner Mann mit Brille, immer lächelnd, mal mit Lehrstock in der Hand, manchmal auch mit Pfeife im Mund. Das war unser „little professor". Etwa 25 Jahre war er das Gesicht von Berlitz und auf Werbeplakaten, in Schulbüchern und Werbebroschüren zu finden. Ob als Busfahrer in London oder als Kellner in Frankreich. Seine Botschaft: Mit Humor in eine Fremdsprache eintauchen macht mehr Spaß und bringt jeden schneller zum Ziel. Vergessen werden wir den kleinen Professor nicht.





Diversität bei Berlitz: Ein Vorreiter in Sachen Gleichberechtigung

Während der Weltkriege zeichnete sich deutlich ab, wie die Unterstützung und Führung von Frauen die Berlitz Zukunft prägen sollte. Schuldirektoren wurden zum Wehrdienst eingezogen, Ehefrauen oder Sekretärinnen hingegen plötzlich mit der Schulleitung beauftragt. Es waren Zeiten voller Angst: Lehrer verschwanden, Schulräume wurden beschädigt, Bücher verbrannt. Viele Schulen wurden zerstört. Dort, wo Schulen nicht mehr existierten, brachten Berlitz Mitarbeiterinnen das Lehrmaterial in Sicherheit. Und in einigen Städten hielten die Frauen den Schulbetrieb mit Erfolg aufrecht. Ihrem Mut hat Berlitz viel zu verdanken. Und heute: Als Unterzeichner der „Charta der Vielfalt" verpflichtet sich Berlitz, eine Organisationskultur frei von Vorurteilen zu pflegen, die von gegenseitigem Respekt und Wertschätzung jeder und jedes Einzelnen geprägt ist. Inzwischen sind in Deutschland 75% der Mitarbeiter insgesamt und 75% der Führungskräfte weiblich.


Die Sahel Expedition und der Start der Berlitz Stiftung

In den Jahren 1988 bis 1992 begab sich ein Berlitz Team aus Brüssel, in Kooperation mit mehreren Non-Profit-Organisationen, auf eine Mission: Ein Land Rover Convoy sollte eine Tour durch die afrikanische Wüste wagen, mit dem Ziel Menschen in der Sahel Zone zu helfen. Mit im Gepäck waren lebensnotwendige Medizin, haltbare Lebensmittel und eine technische Ausrüstung, die das Graben von Brunnen ermöglichte. Für das Team war es eine gefährliche Expedition. Doch der Dank der Familien und Kinder vor Ort, stärkte die Crew täglich aufs Neue. Seither unterstützen wir bei Berlitz Kinder in Not. In 2006 entstand gemeinsam mit der Kinderrechtsorganisation Plan International die Berlitz Bildungsstiftung. Die Berlitz Stiftung ist unser kleiner Beitrag, Kindern ein Stück Zukunft zu schenken, indem wir sie auf ihrem Bildungsweg unterstützen.

Mehr zur Berlitz Stiftung erfahren >>


Berlitz German Coastguard: Das erste virale Werbevideo

Mehr als eine Millionen Mal wurde dieses Youtube Video bisher geklickt und schaffte es sogar in die Top Ten der besten Werbekampagnen des Jahres 2006: Ein junger Mitarbeiter der deutschen Küstenwache wird kurz von einem Kollegen in die Boardtechnik und den Radar eingewiesen und ist dann sich selbst überlassen. Plötzlich geht ein Notruf ein: "Mayday, Mayday. We are sinking!" Der junge Mann ist überrascht, nervös und fragt in gebrochenem Englisch zurück: "What are you thinking about?" gefolgt von Claim und Logo "Improve your English" "Berlitz, language for life". Offiziell wurde dieses Video nie als Werbespot veröffentlicht. Für die skandinavische Agentur und Berlitz war es trotzdem eine erfolgreiche Aktion, die besonders die Bekanntheit der Marke Berlitz stärkte und noch heute zum Schmunzeln führt.


Berlitz heute: Kompetenzen, die Sie weiterbringen

Als einer der weltweit führenden Anbieter für Sprachen und Seminare finden Sie bei uns ein differenziertes Angebot an Kommunikationstrainings für die globale Arbeitswelt. Flexibel, maßgeschneidert und immer in höchster Berlitz Qualität. Ihr persönlicher Erfolg ist unsere Motivation!

  • Sprachtrainings, interkulturelle Trainings und Trainings für Management- sowie Führungskompetenz aus einer Hand
  • Über 300.000 zufriedene Kunden pro Jahr
  • Zertifiziert nach ISO 9001 für professionelles Qualitätsmanagement (durchgehend seit 2006)
  • Rund 500 Standorte in über 70 Ländern
  • Deutschlandweites Netzwerk mit 56 Berlitz Centern und 40 Firmenkundenberatern


Mehr Berlitz Stories zum 140. Jubiläum

Bei 140 Jahren Unternehmensgeschichte gibt es viel zu erzählen. Im Jubiläumsjahr 2018 halten wir weitere Berlitz Geschichten für Sie bereit. Feiern Sie mit uns!